College of Dental Hygienists of Ontario
The College of Dental Hygienists of Ontario regulates the practice of dental hygiene in the interest of the overall health and safety of the public of Ontario.

Self-Service-E  FAQ-E

Professional Members

Why Get Involved?

Members of Council and committees act in the public interest and further the College’s mandate of regulating the practice of dental hygiene. By participating in the election, either as a candidate or through voting, you are influencing the future of dental hygiene practice and regulation in Ontario. By standing for election, registrants have the opportunity to join a committed group of dental hygienists and government-appointed public members on Council working together to safeguard the public interest and to uphold the standard of care that dental hygienists provide to their clients.

While registrants find serving on Council both personally and professionally rewarding, it requires a significant time commitment. Council typically meets for two days, three to six times per year. Dates are set well in advance to facilitate planning for members. Preparation time associated with Council meetings averages two hours for each meeting. This generally involves reviewing material in advance of meetings in order to contribute constructively to Council discussions and decision-making.

Council members must also serve on at least two statutory Committees. The time commitment varies significantly depending on which Committee(s) you serve. Some Committees may meet only twice per year for one day while others meet on a more frequent basis. Please click here for more information about each statutory Committee.

The College pays a per diem for participating on Council and Committees. Information regarding per diems is defined in CDHO's Remuneration Guidelines.

Registrants who are interested in running for election must consider whether they can commit the time to serve and may also wish to discuss the commitment with their employer (where applicable).


How Long Can I Serve as a Member of Council?

Members of Council serve a three-year term of office, unless otherwise established in accordance with the College’s Bylaw, and are limited to three consecutive terms. 


Electoral Districts and Number of Professional Members Elected

For the purposes of election to the Council as an Elected Member, the following electoral districts are established (with necessary modifications by the Registrar to ensure that the entire province is covered and that there is no overlap of districts):

  • Electoral district 1, the southwestern district, composed of the counties of Bruce, Grey, Elgin, Essex, Huron, Kent, Lambton, Middlesex, Oxford and Perth;
  • Electoral district 2, the central western (north) district, composed of the counties of Wellington, Simcoe, Dufferin and the regional municipalities of Halton and Peel;
  • Electoral district 3, the central western (south) district, composed of the county of Brant and the regional municipalities of Haldimand-Norfolk, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara and Waterloo;
  • Electoral district 4, the central district, composed of the regional municipalities of York and Metropolitan Toronto;
  • Electoral district 5, the central eastern district, composed of the counties of Frontenac, Peterborough, Hastings, Lanark, Lennox and Addington, Prince Edward, Victoria, Haliburton, Northumberland, and the regional municipality of Durham;
  • Electoral district 6, the eastern district, composed of the counties of Dundas, Glengarry, Leeds and Grenville, Prescott and Russell and United Counties, Renfrew and Stormont and The Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton;
  • Electoral district 7, the northeastern district, composed of the territorial districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Manitoulin, Muskoka, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury and Timiskaming;
  • Electoral district 8, the northwestern district, composed of the territorial districts of Rainy River, Thunder Bay and Kenora.

The number of Registrants to be Elected in district 4 is two. The number of Registrants to be Elected in districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 and 8 is one.